Joshua Cheptegei wins International San Silvestre Vallecana 10K

Joshua Cheptegei

Long-distance runner Joshua Cheptegei claimed the international San Silvestre Vallecana with a time of 27:09 in Madrid on Saturday.

The world record holder of 5,000 and 10,000 meters overcame a host of elite athletes including Mohamed Katir from Murcia by ten seconds.

Katir moved pace-on-pace with Cheptegei until the 7th kilometre where he surrendered the defence of the title he won last year.

Cheptegei, 26, arrived in Madrid after overcoming an injury that prevented him from competing for much of 2022.

Cheptegei didn’t break the test record, held by his compatriot Jacob Kiplimo, who in 2018, with a time of 26: 41, eclipsed the previous record (26:54), held by Eliud Kipchoge since 2006.

The first kilometres were a tough test and the 5,000m mark was reached in 13:17 by only three runners, Cheptegei, Katir and Jesús Ramos from Madrid.

Cheptegei entered the Vallecas Stadium alone, receiving a standing ovation from the large audience that cheered him on when he crossed the finish line.

Young Ugandan Prisca Chesang won the women’s category with a time of 30:19. The second place went to Burundian Francine Niyonsaba in 30:58. Kenyan Beatrice Chepkoech finished third in 31:06.

Leading Results Men 10km International

Pos. Name Result Ave. Pace KM.
1 Joshua Cheptegei 0:27:09 2’42″/km
2 Mohamed Katir El Haouzi 0:27:19 2’43″/km
3 Jesus Ramos Reviejo 0:27:52 2’47″/km
4 Sergio Paniagua Escobar 0:28:00 2’48″/km
5 Aaron De Las Heras Ruperez 0:28:04 2’48″/km
6 Carlos Mayo 0:28:04 2’48″/km
7 Ignacio Fontes-Garcia Balibrea 0:28:06 2’48″/km
8 Carlos Diaz Del Rio 0:28:08 2’48″/km
9 Nassim Hassaous Garcia 0:28:13 2’49″/km
10 Juan A. Perez Moreno 0:28:18 2’49″/km
11 Fernando Carro Morillo 0:28:35 2’51″/km
12 Jorge Blanco Alvarez 0:28:36 2’51″/km
13 Daniel Mateo Angulo 0:28:37 2’51″/km
14 Ilias Aouani 0:28:45 2’52″/km
15 Lahcen Ait Alibou Ouhada 0:28:51 2’53″/km

Leading Results Women 10km International

Pos. Name Result Ave. Pace KM.
1 Prisca Chesang 30:19 3:02/km
2 Francine Niyonsaba 30:58 3:05/km
3 Beatrice Chepkoech 31:06 3:06/km
4 Mahelet Mulugeta 31:57 3:11/km
5 Naima Ait Alibou Ouhada 32:49 3:15/km
6 Laura Priego Montero 32:49 3:16/km
7 Nina Chydenius 32:51 3:17/km
8 Laura Luengo Caselles 32:52 3:17/km
9 Laura Mendez Esquer 33:06 3:18/km
10 Irene Pelayo Gonzalez 33:27 3:20/km

Top Sports Stories You Might Like

Mahatlane: Robinson, Siraje deserve chance to play for Cricket Cr...

Jan 1, 2023

5 months ago

Uganda Cup: Police eager to extend Vipers’ wait for double

Jan 1, 2023

5 months ago

Uganda Cup: Can Vipers SC finally clinch a double?

Jan 1, 2023

5 months ago